I Feel Bad About My Neck – Nora Ephron

When I was rewriting & refining my reading list to post on my blog, I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron stood out to me. I reread the synopsis and decided it should be moved higher on my list ASAP. So, I utilized my local library and was able to check out my own copy.

This book was a really quick read. With the entire book spanning a few more pages than 137 it wasn’t difficult to get through. The full title (I Feel Bad About My Neck and Other Thoughts on Being a Woman) gives a little more detail to what Ephron discusses in those short 137 pages. The entire book is mostly about Ephron’s take on aging and how it relates to love and denial. She also includes other thoughts in the book about reading, moving, cooking, Bill Clinton, and death. She is witty and comical throughout, and honestly I enjoyed the read.

My favorite chapter was “On Rapture” where Ephron talks about the magic of reading! It is so easy for any reader to think they are the only person in the world that reacts to a book. I constantly get wrapped up in a novel and romanticize or empathize more than the author probably ever thought possible. Sometimes I think it’s impossible for someone else to love a novel, or a character, as much as I do. Ephron proves this not to be in this chapter. She captures what every reader experiences. She’s realistic about that fact, too, but making it a point to say that it isn’t every single book that raptures a reader. We can’t love them all, right?

I didn’t like, or understand, the chapter about Bill Clinton. Sure, I know what she was getting at, but it just didn’t jive with the rest of the book to me… I felt like it was thrown in there at last thought. After a quick Google search, I found that she published this essay in numerous .com locations…. So, in my opinion, there wasn’t much reason to include it in this book…. especially when it has *nothing* to do with getting older.

Over all, I Feel Bad About My Neck was witty, and for the most part entertaining. Although, I didn’t find myself laughing out loud to anything within the covers, I still felt as though this novel held it’s purpose at being comical. As a young, in my 20’s gal, it gave me insight on what I may look forward to in the future (shudder at the thought of bifocals). Also, as per Ephron’s instruction, I have now changed into a bikini and will wear it until I’m 34. (I’m sorry for anyone that has to witness that…)

 

Danke für das Lesen!

-LK

Leave a Reply

