Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone- J.K. Rowling

Happy Thursday my dear blog friends.

Up until recently (by that I mean literally just an hour or two ago) I had been committing one of the BIGGEST sins of reading of all time (apparently…). In my 24 years of living, I had never once read a full Harry Potter book. I know, strike me down as I type! How could I?! The NERVE of me….. anyway- it’s true. In my young, adolescent years, I did attempt to start HP once (due to my father’s insistence) but literally could not break past the first chapter. I just couldn’t get focused enough on it at the time (I was under 10 years old, mind you). By the time HP was finally taking off and gaining momentum, I was stuck in my pre-teen goth/emo phase, and actively refused to be apart of anything mainstream *cue hair flip*. So, here I am, 10-15 years later, trying to catch up with the rest of the world.

[Also- I do know a quite a bit about the books- have seen all the movies. My Bff4E is absolutely obsessed with HP, and drug me out to watch the movies with her (and also for a book release when we were in High School…). I have also completed all HP quizzes released by Buzzfeed- although I was told that doesn’t mean anything to true Potterheads.. Finally, I have read all Fan Theories regarding HP that I come across. STILL, I am told none of that matters since I have, in fact, not read the series….]

Anyway, here I am, trying to make up for lost time. I picked up book 1 from B&N (knowing that I would indeed like HP, I by-passed the test read from my Library).

You all know about HP, right, so there is no need for me to explain the plot… right???? Just in case- It’s about a boy named Harry who, after surviving a vicious attack as an infant, goes to live with his Aunt and Uncle. Come to find out, Harry is actually a WIZARDDDDD! He’s saved from his drab “family” and taken to Hogwarts (a school for Wizardry!) where he finds himself (and his friends) in many particular odd and dangerous situations.

Obviously, this series is very famous- and for a good reason! It was a great book. It was a quick and fun read. I have literally no complaints about this one. It was all really solid in my opinion! In fact, so solid, that I can hardly say there wasn’t a part about this book I didn’t enjoy. It had something going on from start to finish! Not at one part did I feel bored. It was brilliant!

So, I will close with my favorite passage from the entire book! It’s Christmas time, and the Weasley’s (plus Harry) have all received and put on their sweaters stitched with love from their mom. As Ron begrudgingly pulls his on, George (matching his twin, Fred, in his sweater) notices Ron’s is unmonikered and says says:

“You haven’t got a letter on yours.  …. I suppose she thinks you don’t forget your name. But we’re not stupid — we know we’re called Gred and Forge.”

That’s all for now, book warriors! If you haven’t read HP yet, I suggest you start with me!  Until next time!

-LK

Leave a Reply

