Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling

So- book #2 that I finished this weekend was HP 2, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets! As I stated in my post of HP & Sorcerer’s Stone, I have never read the HP series. Here I am, 24-years-old, trying to catch up on lost time!

HP 2 was, in my opinion, not as great as HP 1, but still was very good. J.K. Rowling has such an incredible ability to pull the reader in and keep momentum going in her novels! I didn’t feel like there was a single moment of this book that wasn’t interesting in some way!

The teacher Gilderoy Lockhart was incredibly annoying. I would have guessed that even in the magical community someone would have put him in his place at some point in this book??? Also, I was super annoyed that Hermione was “obsessed” with him. You’d think, with her intelligence, she would have been peeved that all that was covered in class was him.

Another thing- why would anyone allow Harry to return to a “home” with the Dursleys where he is so obviously mistreated!? It boggles my mind…. Another thing! How does the Ministry of Magic have the ability to track when magic is used outside of Hogwarts but isn’t able to accurately track who is committing the magic? Seemed odd to me.

Over all, I enjoyed the book. It was a quick read, with cute story lines and a mysterious plot! I’m definitely looking forward to the next one!

-LK

Leave a Reply

