Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them : The Original Screenplay – J.K. Rowling

Guten Morgen!!

Although I’m positive you all have read every single one of my previous blog post (*intense side-eye to those that haven’t), I’ll remind you all that I always try to follow books I didn’t enjoy with books I really enjoy. I planned to reread one of my favorites, but decided instead to pick up Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them : The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling. *side note, I had to run to Barnes and Noble to pick up the book, which naturally means I actually bought 6 total new books… obviously, I have a problem…*  I’m planning on seeing the movie this Friday, and unlike the HP series, I wanted to read about it before actually seeing the movie. I’m so glad I did, because it has vamped me up so much for this Friday!

A tidbit of information- this is the first actual screenplay that I have read completely, and enjoyed. Of course, we all went to school and had to read screenplays from various famous literary geniuses…. but this is the first one I have read voluntarily- and I loved it! It was so adorably cute. Rowling just has such a way of painting the picture in a person’s head without even needing to share too much.*spoilers ahead*

We have our few characters that are most important:

  • Newt- has a briefcase full of magical creatures
  • Jacob- a “No-Maj” who gets caught up in the mess
  • Tina- a “detective” who tries to redeem herself with turning Newt in
  • Queenie- Tina’s sister
  • Graves- investigator of sorts

and you also have a handful of other characters that are important to the book, too. Personally, I feel these 5 are the highest of importance.

I loved every single one of the fun creatures. My favorite is the niffler. The way it is written in the book sounds hilariously adorable. They are all particular in their own way, but that one is the one I am looking forward to the most!

 

I have also already read some great connecting internet pieces about the how this will relate directly to the HP series! It’s so fun!! I can’t wait to see if Dumbledore’s sister was an Obscurus. I’m so happy I read HP at this point in my life. Now I can be an annoying theory-sharer with people who probably don’t care! Life is good.

 

Anyway, I’m on to my next book. I doubt I’ll finish in time to write a review before tomorrow, so I will say it now- Happy Thanksgiving to all my readers. I hope this holiday brings you close to your friends and family, and may everyone keep American politics out of the conversations!

Much love and thankfulness

xox -LK

 

One thought on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them : The Original Screenplay – J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

