This is How You Lose Her – Junot Diaz

 

HI MY BOOK BESTIES!

It has been SO LONG since I last posted that wordpress has even changed their layout formats!!! Geez. I’ve had a TON going on lately- a job transfer, a night class, mini-marathon training! I just haven’t had the time to be reading like I would like to… So, sorry for the lack of reviews. Despite the lack of time to read, I have been buying books like a mad woman. I have so many to read, it’s not even funny!! Two of my recent purchases were in preparation for a lecture featuring Junot Diaz in my home state!

From my past reviews, you all know that I LOVED The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. Seriously, one of the best books I’ve read. When one of my friends mentioned to me that Diaz was going to be giving a lecture in my home state of Indiana, I knew I had to go and meet him!!! I wanted to read all 3 of his novels before going, but that didn’t happen. I just finished up This is How You Lose Her last night. To me, it was not as great as TBWLOOW; it was still good, just not on the same level for me… Reading about Oscar was enjoyable… Reading about cheating stressed me out.

This is How You Lose Her is, at it’s foundation, a “cheaters-guide to love”, and it is tragically heart breaking. You desperately want these people in this book to do better for themselves, and for their significant others. Diaz does SO WELL to translate the pain and emptiness these characters feel throughout the novel. There were multiple times I was thinking to myself “Yunior- you can not fuck away the hole left in your heart.” That is when you know the writing is good- when you mentally are trying to tell the character shit.

This book isn’t pretty. You will not wrap it up feeling good about Yunior and his cheatin-ass ways. But, you will walk away feeling the raw emotions from the words. I think that is what caught me and made me take pause while reading this book… I kept getting too wrapped up in the emotion that the characters were expressing. I think that is why this book still has a high rating (3.74 at the time of this review)… Because, despite the dirty, sneak that you are reading about, you can still appreciate the emotions coming from the book.

As with Oscar, my complaint for this book would be the time hoping/story jumping. At this point, there are still people that were brought up in this story that I have no idea how they related Yunior. I realize some of them were to show us how infidelity was part of Yunior’s entire life, but at the same time, their portion could have been left out and I would have been fine.

Meeting Diaz was a great experience. He is such a knowledgeable person! The lecture was fantastic! Diaz is very intellectual, but also humorous at the right moments (just like his books are). Diaz’s thoughts, especially about America’s current political climate, should be heard. I’ve inserted the video from the lecture onto this post- if you have the time, I would suggest to watch.

So, have you read this book??? Or- have you met an author you absolutely adored? Let me know about them in the comments!!!

As always, thank you for reading! I hope to be posting again very soon!

 

 

Screenshot_2017-03-22-13-45-20

Meeting Diaz at the McFadden Memorial Lecture in Indianapolis, Indiana

Leave a Reply

